The Wife by Alafair Burke

5.00 (5 votes)

Alafair Burke is the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of more than fifteen novels, among them The Wife, a psychological thriller (January 2018). Learn more about the author and her book, as well as ratings and reviews on the latter.

Alafair Burke was born in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, but grew up primarily in Wichita, Kansas. A graduate of Stanford Law School and a former prosecutor, she is now a professor at Hofstra Law School, where she teaches criminal law and procedure. She lives in New York City and East Hampton with her husband and two beloved dogs.

She began her career clerking for a judge on the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. Then she served as a Deputy District Attorney in Portland, Oregon, where she specialized in domestic violence offenses and also served as a liaison to the police department.

Alafair traces her lifelong fascination with crime to the fact that a serial killer was active in her hometown in her formative years. Her interest in crime led her to a career in America’s police precincts and criminal courtrooms. Alafair decided to write a novel when she realized that her own job was fertile ground for crime fiction. Her novels grow out of her experience as a prosecutor in America’s police precincts and criminal courtrooms, and have been featured by The Today Show, People Magazine, The New York Times, O Magazine, MSNBC, The Washington Post, USA Today, and The Chicago Sun-Times.

Alafair Burke‘s previous novel, The Ex, was nominated for an Edgar Award for Best Novel.

In addition to the standalone novels that have earned her a reputation as “a genius for plot” (Oprah Magazine) and “a virtuoso” of domestic suspense (Minneapolis Star Tribune), she authors “two power house series” (Sun-Sentinel) featuring NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher and Portland Deputy District Attorney Samantha Kincaid. Alafair is also the co-author of the “Under Suspicion” series with Queen of Suspense Mary Higgins Clark.

Her psychological thriller, The Wife (January 2018), has been praised as “sneaky” (Lisa Scottoline), “schemey” (Seattle Times), “twisty” (Megan Miranda), and “tantalizing” (Booklist). It was selected as a best-of-the-month pick by Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Entertainment Weekly, O (Oprah Magazine), and others. It is being adapted as a feature film, with Alafair writing the screenplay.

Let’s take a closer look now at the book story.

Synopsis:

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE

His Scandal
Her Secret

From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother’s home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look—at both the man she married and the women she chose not to believe.

This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke’s Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

More information on the

EBOOK

HARDCOVER

PAPERBACK

 

(4.00)
(5.00)
(4.00)

One comment

  • Amazing! I love the way Alafair writes. It’s an intriguing book with excellent plotline and many twists and turns, especially the final one. The characters are well developed and believable. A book you truly can’t put down until the very end!

Leave a Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *