Atopia Series by Matthew Mather

Spread the love
4.78 (47 votes)

Matthew Mather, a Canadian writer of science fiction novels, is the author of the Atopia Series, the third book of which was released in April 2017. Learn more about the author, his books, as well as ratings and reviews on the latter.

Matthew Mather was born in Sheffield, England, and grew up in Montreal, Canada. Wellknown for his science fiction novel, Cyberstorm, which has been bought by 20th Century Fox to turn it into a movie, he currently divides his time between Montreal and Charlotte, North Carolina, working as a full-time author of speculative fiction. He is Translated into sixteen languages, and his books are sold worldwide.

After earning a degree in electrical engineering, Matthew started his professional career at the McGill Center for Intelligent Machines. He went on to found one of the world’s first tactile-feedback companies, which became the world leader in its field, as well as creating an award-winning brain-training video game. In between, he’s worked on a variety of start-ups, from computational nanotechnology, electronic health records, and weather prediction systems to genomics and social-intelligence research.

In 2009, the original inspiration for his technology career—reading the great masters of science fiction—set him on a new path. The result was the bestselling Atopia Series, including The Atopia Chronicles, The Dystopia Chronicles, and The Utopia Chronicles. Matthew Mather is also the author of the Nomad novels, Nomad and Sanctuary, as well as Darknet.

The 3 books of the Atopia Series available to date are:


Robert Baxter once reveled in the intoxicating delights of Atopia—the man-made island where humans lose themselves in a world of boundless virtual realities. Now, Bob has returned to immerse himself in this mind-altering, consciousness-sharing refuge from the eroding Earth.

But something is very wrong. Bob feels a tidal wave of doom cresting above the pleasure dome that is Atopia. As alternate universes perish, the salvation of all he loves—and all that exists—rests with Bob alone. To save the future, he must journey to the farthest edge of the past, where existence itself began and Atopia’s deepest secrets may lie. Yet even the knowledge Bob ultimately gains may not be a match for an enemy as powerful as a god, and as all-consuming as death . . .


The second book in the bestselling Atopia series.

Cast out from Atopia, Robert Baxter undertakes a globe-trotting quest to find his friend Willy’s lost body, which just may hold the key to understanding the dangers facing his home…and Jimmy Scadden’s role in the disasters that are spreading across the world.

As Robert pieces together the puzzle, he realizes that mankind’s ravenous consumption of natural resources is no longer the most immediate threat to this world. As full-scale global war erupts and an ancient apocalyptic threat resurfaces, Robert must risk losing the ones he loves to save the planet from destruction.


What could be worse than letting billions die?

In the near future, to escape the crush and clutter of a packed and polluted Earth, the world’s elite flock to Atopia, a massive corporate-owned artificial island in the Pacific Ocean. It is there that Dr. Patricia Killiam rushes to perfect the ultimate in virtual reality: a program to save the ravaged Earth from mankind’s insatiable appetite for natural resources.

Now in development as a new TV series, The Atopia Chronicles (Book 1 of the Atopia series) is the tale of mankind’s dark slide across the apocalypse as humans and machines merge in a world teetering on the brink of ecological ruin.



One comment

  1. This story is a sound mix of philosophy and science ficion. Even if you haven’t read the previous two books, you will enjoy this book as a whole. I loved the characters. Matthew Mather brings us a satisfying end to this trilogy with the Utopia Chronicles. It was an amazing journey with many twists and turns, surprising! A highly enjoyable read!

Leave a Reply