Igraine: magical historical fantasy romance by Lavinia Collins

Spread the love
4.50 (40 votes)

Lavinia Collins published Igraine: magical historical fantasy romance in April 2018. Learn more about the author and her book, as well as ratings and reviews on the latter.

Lavinia Collins is the author of the Arthurian #1 Bestsellers ‘The Guinevere Trilogy’ & ‘The Witches of Avalon’.

Lavinia grew up in the rural Westcountry (England), where there was nothing to do but get lost in her own imagination. She is currently based in London.

Author, feminist, fantasist and chronic daydreamer, she began her love affair with all things medieval when she visited Tintagel castle as a little child. She went on to study medieval literature at University, where she indulged her habit of getting lost in an imaginary past by studying medieval Literature. While there she learned everything about chivalry in theory, and almost nothing in practice. She wanted to share just a little bit of the powerful magic of medieval literature and legend with the wider world, and bring these half-lost stories to a modern audience, to recover the most of all the stories of the women of these legends, who often get lost among all of the tales of heroes and battles.  She hopes that you find reading her books as much of a romantic, immersive escape from the “real world” as she did writing them.

Now she splits her time between her main passion, writing, and a bit of teaching and a lot of fussing the cat and daydreaming. She loves eating (mainly chocolate), drinking (mainly wine) and being merry (combination of the previous two and good friends).

Let’s dive now into the book story.


The epic tale of a woman who will use all her power to protect her son and make him King.

This collection of three books tells the story of King Arthur’s mother, Igraine, the conflict over the future king’s destiny between her and Merlin, and the struggle within a post-Roman Britain to mix past with present, Christianity with paganism, and magic with politics. Igraine is no passive bystander at court but a powerful political player, a wise and influential queen who reflects the strength and tenacity of the women of ancient Britain. Igraine’s life has never before been told in detail. This is her story.

The Cornish Princess
The King of Britain is dead, without a male heir. The politics of her country never mattered much to Igraine, until now, when they threatened to rob her of her home. When the witch Merlin tells her destiny will make her queen, a defiant Igraine refuses an offer of marriage from Uther, a rough soldier and unlikely pretender for the throne, but destiny cannot be avoided and the harder she fights it, the more brutal it will be when it comes.

The Prisoner Queen
Freshly widowed, with a child she can’t possibly have in safety and two grieving daughters, Igraine must negotiate the dangerous politics of a court in turmoil, unsure of if she is its new queen or a prisoner. With Uther’s promises not yet kept, and him slipping further under Merlin’s control, to protect her unborn child, her daughters and the home she has left behind, Igraine is forced to make deals with friends she knows are not to be trusted.

Mother of the King
With her son lost and Merlin back at court, Igraine fights for control of the kingdom. Uther is broken by grief, weakening and dying, and Igraine is locked in a conflict with the wizard over the destiny of her son. In this battle there can be only one survivor, and Igraine has not survived the dangers of court to give up now.

If you enjoy epic fantasy adventures like Game of Thrones, with a romantic twist, this book is for you.

Also available as three separate titles on Kindle. FREE with Kindle Unlimited.

Like the other three Arthurian trilogies by Lavinia Collins, IGRAINE is also available in beautiful paperback edition.

More information on the





Leave a Reply