The Tiger and the Wolf (Echoes of the Fall Book 1) by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Spread the love
4.83 (48 votes)

Adrian Tchaikovsky (originally Czajkowski) is a British fantasy and science fiction novelist, author of The Tiger and the Wolf (Echoes of the Fall Book 1), a fantasy novel published in February 2016. Adrian Czajkowski was born in Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire in 1972. His best known work is the Shadows of the Apt series. His novel Children of Time won the 30th Arthur C. Clarke Award in 2016.

Adrian Tchaikovsky studied Zoology and Psychology at the University of Reading, in Berkshire. He then qualified as a Legal Executive, a position that he currently holds in the Commercial Dispute Department of Blacks, Solicitors, in Leeds, where he lives with his wife and son.

After fifteen years of trying to get published, Tchaikovsky obtained his first break in UK in 2008 with Empire in Black and Gold from the series The Shadows of the Apt, which includes also Dragonfly Falling, Blood of the Mantis, and other titles and was reliesed later in America.

His novel Children of Time, winner of the 30th Arthur C. Clarke Award in 2016, was described by author James Lovegrove as “superior stuff, tackling big themes – gods, messiahs, artificial intelligence, alienness – with brio”.

He has stated in his blog that he chose to publish under the name Tchaikovsky, as the spelling of his given name could have caused potential difficulties for American and British readers in both spelling and pronunciation according to the publishers. In fact, it is common use in UK as well as in US marketing to alter a name to help sales. The same happened with the German and Polish editions although the author had asked that the latter be printed under his real name.

Let’s discover today The Tiger and the Wolf (Echoes of the Fall Book 1) by Adrian Tchaikovsky.


The first novel in the Echoes of the Fall series, The Tiger and the Wolf is an accomplished high fantasy by Adrian Tchaikovsky, author of the Arthur C. Clarke award-winning Children of Time.

In the bleak northern crown of the world, war is coming

Maniye’s father is the Wolf clan’s chieftain, but she’s an outcast. Her mother was queen of the Tiger and these tribes have been enemies for generations. Maniye also hides a deadly secret. All can shift into their clan’s animal form, but Maniye can take on tiger and wolf shapes. She refuses to disown half her soul so escapes, rescuing a prisoner of the Wolf clan in the process. The killer Broken Axe is set on their trail, to drag them back for retribution.

The Wolf chieftan plots to rule the north and controlling his daughter is crucial to his schemes. However, other tribes also prepare for strife. Strangers from the far south appear too, seeking allies in their own conflict. It’s a season for omens as priests foresee danger and a darkness falling across the land. Some say a great war is coming, overshadowing even Wolf ambitions. A time of testing and broken laws is near, but what spark will set the world ablaze?

For more information about

THE KINLE EBOOK, just click here

THE HARDCOVER, just click here

THE PAPERBACK, just click here


One comment

Leave a Reply